Book Review, Chick Lit, Comedy, Friends to Lovers, Rachel's Random Resources, Romance, Women's Fiction

Dreaming of Verona by T. A. Williams

Dreaming of Verona Banner

ABOUT THE BOOK

Verona is the City of Love. But will Suzie find romance there or, like Romeo and Juliet, will it all end in tears?

When Suzie is hired to accompany spoiled, abrasive Lady Alexandra Tedburn on an all-expenses-paid holiday to Italy, she fears the trip will be a disaster.

But she soon discovers there’s more to Alex than shopping and tantrums, and she’s determined to help her realize her potential – against Alex’s authoritarian father’s wishes.

As they settle in Verona, Suzie can’t stop thinking about local artist Michael, who is still mourning the tragic death of his wife. With Suzie’s future uncertain, and Michael’s past
holding him back, it seems there’s no hope for romance in the city of
star-crossed lovers… or is there?

A gorgeously uplifting and moving story, Dreaming of Verona is the perfect read for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver.

MY REVIEW

What’s not to love about this book? It’s witty, it’s inspiring, it’s full of beautiful locations, it’s romantic, and it’s full of fun characters. From the beginning, Mr. Williams draws the reader in by following English scholar, Suzanne “Suzie” Cartwright in an adventure of a lifetime.

Paid to chaperone a 23-year-old spoiled socialite, Lady Alexandra “Alex” Tedburn, in her favorite country, Italy, Suzie finds fabulous new friends, a dream job, and a tragic love that only Shakespeare could have penned.

Suzie is the pivotal character in the story touching everyone’s life in a positive and enlightening way. Her brilliant and honest ability to make friends, give sound advice, and windsurf better than the boys is what makes this an enchanting read. I love that Suzie is her own woman and pursues her happiness and her dreams even though she cannot have the man she cares about. Of course, Suzie is not alone in the story. Alex is taking her life back from her overbearing father and pursuing art, Rafe, Alex’s brother, is marrying the girl he loves, despite his dad’s wish for his son to marry someone with a title, James is not giving up on Alex, the love of his life, and Michael Turner, famous artist, widower, and lost soul just wants to be friends with Suzie. And let’s not forget the always-hungry labrador retriever, Dogberry, and the fat feline, Cat.

This story will sweep you away to the magical city of Venice and beautiful Verona, the city of Romeo and Juliet, the Arena and wonderful cuisine. If you love a great adventure and a fantastic setting with fun characters, please give this book a try.

Thank you to Mr. Williams for giving me the opportunity to read this book with no expectation of a positive review.

BUY THE BOOK

Dreaming Of Verona Cover

Amazon UK Amazon US

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations and, as a writer, I obviously have to go there in person and check them out first. I love my job…

Follow Mr. Williams on his website, Twitter and Facebook.

RARAResources