The Last Night Out by Catherine O’Connell @OConnellauthor @blackthornbks #bookreview #NetGalley #friendship #murder #mystery

I wonder how many outcomes have hinged on such cringe-worthy moments: how many lives have been indelibly changed as a result of one misstep? Whether by choice or by deflection, the consequences of the alternate path can be dire. Set in Chicago in the late '80s, Ms. O'Connell's novel about murder, secrets, betrayals, and friendship … Continue reading The Last Night Out by Catherine O’Connell @OConnellauthor @blackthornbks #bookreview #NetGalley #friendship #murder #mystery

#SegueSaturday No Choirboy: Murder, Violence, and Teenagers on Death Row by Susan Kuklin #bookreview #nonfiction #capitalpunishment

No Choirboy

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in October 2009.  It is another short review, but it is a very memorable book. No Choirboy takes readers inside America's prisons and … Continue reading #SegueSaturday No Choirboy: Murder, Violence, and Teenagers on Death Row by Susan Kuklin #bookreview #nonfiction #capitalpunishment

First Lines Friday – May 24, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: Nothing ever starts where we think it does. So, of course, this doesn't begin with the vicious and cowardly murder of an FBI agent … Continue reading First Lines Friday – May 24, 2019

The Mausoleum by @davidmarkwriter @severnhouse @NetGalley #bookreview #historical fiction #mystery

The Mausoleum

1967. In a quiet village in the wild lands of the Scottish borders, disgraced academic Cordelia Hemlock is trying to put her life back together. Grieving the loss of her son, she seeks out the company of the dead, taking comfort amid the ancient headstones and crypts of the local churchyard. When lightning strikes a … Continue reading The Mausoleum by @davidmarkwriter @severnhouse @NetGalley #bookreview #historical fiction #mystery

#SegueSaturday Gray Apocalypse by James Murdoch #bookreview #scifi #paranormal #aliens

Gray Apocalypse

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in May 2009.  A fast-paced science fiction page-turner.  Enjoy! Kendon stared at his hands. They were trembling. He closed his eyes in an … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Gray Apocalypse by James Murdoch #bookreview #scifi #paranormal #aliens

Beauty’s Curse (Once Upon a Princess Book 1) by C.S. Johnson @C_S_Johnson13 #giveaway #booktour #bookreview #fantasy #romance #yafiction

Publication Date: January 2016 Genre: Fairytale Retelling/ Historical Fantasy/ Romance For four years, Princess Aurora of Rhone—Rose to her friends—has searched the world for a way to break the curse placed on her by Magdalina, the wicked ruler of the fairies at war with her kingdom. Under the curse, Rose is doomed to die on … Continue reading Beauty’s Curse (Once Upon a Princess Book 1) by C.S. Johnson @C_S_Johnson13 #giveaway #booktour #bookreview #fantasy #romance #yafiction

First Lines Friday – May 17, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: The beginning is simple to mark. We were in sunlight under a turkey oak, partly protected from a strong, gusty wind. I was kneeling … Continue reading First Lines Friday – May 17, 2019

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes by Ruth Hogan @ruthmariehogan #NetGalley #womensfiction #mystery #friendship

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Masha is drowning.Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago.Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater--safe … Continue reading The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes by Ruth Hogan @ruthmariehogan #NetGalley #womensfiction #mystery #friendship

#SegueSaturday In the Land of Cotton by Martha A. Taylor #bookreview #nonfiction #autobiography #civilrights #vietnamwar

In the Land of Cotton

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday. I first posted this review in May 2009. A great autobiography set in The South filled with lasting friendships, first love, civil rights, and the heartbreak of … Continue reading #SegueSaturday In the Land of Cotton by Martha A. Taylor #bookreview #nonfiction #autobiography #civilrights #vietnamwar

First Lines Friday – May 10, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: For the first year, or thereabouts, after his Scotch mother's death the successful lawyer Alan Carrington was conscious, among his other feelings, of … Continue reading First Lines Friday – May 10, 2019

Enlightened by Billie Kowalewski @Enlightened31 #voraciousreadersonly #fantasy #YAfiction #paranormal #souls

When Veronica lost the love of her life in a horrible accident she was sure he was gone forever, and she would never love again. Then, five years later she meets her own tragic demise leading her back to the man she loves, but, with an unexpected twist...Imagine waking up to discover that the life … Continue reading Enlightened by Billie Kowalewski @Enlightened31 #voraciousreadersonly #fantasy #YAfiction #paranormal #souls

Desolate Paths by Erin Unger @erinungerwrites @AuthorsXP #Christian #romance #serialkiller #thriller

Desolate Paths by Erin Unger

He knew how to make her happy. And she'd make him happy one day too ... or else. A serial killer is on the loose at a rehab center and Brooke is the next victim. Brooke Hollen is in rehab again. Her drinking almost got someone killed and she is determined to get the help … Continue reading Desolate Paths by Erin Unger @erinungerwrites @AuthorsXP #Christian #romance #serialkiller #thriller

The Night Before by @Wendy_Walker #NetGalley #bookreview #suspense #thriller #murder

The Night Before

Me, a twenty-eight-year-old who needs a shrink to tell her how to behave. I didn't tell him about my childhood here, running wild in the woods behind our house with the neighborhood kids. Me and Rosie--and Joe, whose family lived up the street until he went to high school and they moved closer to town. … Continue reading The Night Before by @Wendy_Walker #NetGalley #bookreview #suspense #thriller #murder

#SegueSaturday Lion’s Pride by Debbie Jordan @lady4peace @PRbytheBook #western #Mormon #mystery #adventure

Lion's Pride

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in July 2010.  I was intrigued about reading a western again and Ms. Jordan's story didn't disappoint. Enjoy! It's been a long … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Lion’s Pride by Debbie Jordan @lady4peace @PRbytheBook #western #Mormon #mystery #adventure

First Lines Friday – May 3, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: Dominick Corvaisis went to sleep under a light wool blanket and a crisp white sheet, sprawled alone in his bed, but he woke … Continue reading First Lines Friday – May 3, 2019

Coming Home to Wishington Bay by Maxine Morrey @Scribbler_Maxi @rararesources #contemporaryromance

Coming Home

Home is where the heart is... Holly doesn't have time for a holiday this year. But when her job threatens to send her over the brink, her boss insists she take a sabbatical. So she packs her bags and escapes to her beloved grandmother Gigi's house on Wishington Bay, which has sat empty since Gigi … Continue reading Coming Home to Wishington Bay by Maxine Morrey @Scribbler_Maxi @rararesources #contemporaryromance

#SegueSaturday Silent Run by @BarbaraFreethy #bookreview #romance #suspense #series

Silent Run

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in April 2009 when Barbara Freethy was a fairly new fiction writer and had a handful of books published. Now she is … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Silent Run by @BarbaraFreethy #bookreview #romance #suspense #series

Collection of the Negatives (The Blood Rising #1) by @VioletStKarl @RRBookTours1 #giveaway #bookreview #blogtour #scifi #romance #newadult #bloodtype

Collection of the Negatives

The overwhelming positive response to this amazing book, turned a mini tour into a full-fledged blog tour! Check out Collection of the Negatives by Violet St. Karl, and enter to win a paperback copy of the book, and a home blood typing kit! How cool is that?! Publication Date: January 11, 2019Genre: Sci-fi/ New Adult … Continue reading Collection of the Negatives (The Blood Rising #1) by @VioletStKarl @RRBookTours1 #giveaway #bookreview #blogtour #scifi #romance #newadult #bloodtype

First Lines Friday – Apr. 26, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: There were all kinds of stories told about the war that made it sound as if it was happening in a faraway and different … Continue reading First Lines Friday – Apr. 26, 2019

Justice Gone by N. Lombardi, Jr. @rararesources #bookreview #blogtour #suspensethriller #legalthriller

Justice Gone

A beaten homeless vet. Three cops gunned down. A multistate manhunt. The trial of the decade. A new kind of legal thriller. When a homeless war veteran is beaten to death by the police, stormy protests ensue, engulfing a small New Jersey town. Soon after, three cops are gunned down.  A multi-state manhunt is underway … Continue reading Justice Gone by N. Lombardi, Jr. @rararesources #bookreview #blogtour #suspensethriller #legalthriller