#SegueSaturday Lords of Corruption by @KyleMillsAuthor #bookreview #politicalthriller #suspense

Dan settled back in his seat, feeling a dull rush of adrenaline when the sun hit the horizon. Evil spirits came out at night. At least that was what he'd been told, and he had no reason to dispute the idea. Africa changed after sunset. Its normal chaos and dysfunction turned dangerous, malevolent. Wasn't Africa … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Lords of Corruption by @KyleMillsAuthor #bookreview #politicalthriller #suspense

First Lines Friday – Apr. 19, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: "My father was swerving around cars, speeding, honking. I rested my head on the strap of the seat belt, tried to ignore how … Continue reading First Lines Friday – Apr. 19, 2019

Deadline by Chris Crutcher @GreenwillowBook #bookreview #yafiction #death #mentalillness #childabuse

Deadline by Chris Crutcher

Yes, after re-posting Whale Talk last week, I felt like another dose of Chris Crutcher, and I wasn't disappointed. But I have to say, and this will sound strange, the minute Doc said it, I felt a congruence. I've never pictured myself over twenty; never really thought I would be. I've had this dream since … Continue reading Deadline by Chris Crutcher @GreenwillowBook #bookreview #yafiction #death #mentalillness #childabuse

#CoverReveal for The Space Between Time by Charlie Laidlaw #Pre-order #ContemporaryFiction #DarkComedy

The space between time

I'm delighted to be able to take part in the cover reveal blog splash for The Space Between Time by Charlie Laidlaw and organized by R&R Book Tours. Expected Publication Date: June 20, 2019 Genre: Contemporary Fiction/ Dark Comedy There are more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand on Earth... Emma Maria Rossini … Continue reading #CoverReveal for The Space Between Time by Charlie Laidlaw #Pre-order #ContemporaryFiction #DarkComedy

Once Upon a Duke (Duke’s Club #1) by @evadevonauthor #bookreview #NetGalley #historicalromance #Regency #series

Once Upon a Duke

Kate drew in a calming breath. She had every right to feel uneasy. Spending months planning her own debauchery was one thing; executing it was quite another. Kathryn Darrell is one of the wealthiest widows in Britain and she is determined to finally know passion she never experienced with her gold digger of a husband. … Continue reading Once Upon a Duke (Duke’s Club #1) by @evadevonauthor #bookreview #NetGalley #historicalromance #Regency #series

Death Before Coffee (Mike O’Shea #2) by @RealDesmondRyan @damppebbles #blogtour #bookreview #mystery #detectivefiction #series

Death Before Coffee

BOOK BLURB By 2:27 on a Thursday afternoon, the one-legged man from Room 8 at 147 Loxitor Avenue has been beaten to death with a lead pipe. Twenty-eight minutes later, Detective Mike O'Shea is testifying in a stuffy courtroom, unaware that, within an hour, he will be standing in an alleyway littered with beer cans … Continue reading Death Before Coffee (Mike O’Shea #2) by @RealDesmondRyan @damppebbles #blogtour #bookreview #mystery #detectivefiction #series

Sunday in Bed with…Once Upon a Duke

Sundays in Bed

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl. This Sunday I’m reading Once Upon a Duke by Eva … Continue reading Sunday in Bed with…Once Upon a Duke

#SegueSaturday Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher #bookreview #yafiction #racism #childabuse

Whale Talk by Chris Cutcher

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday. I first posted this review in September 2009. The review may be short, but my first Cutcher novel made me a life-long fan. Enjoy! I learned in … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher #bookreview #yafiction #racism #childabuse

First Line Fridays – Apr. 12, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: The way I see it, being dead is not terribly far off from being on a cruise ship. Most of your time is spent … Continue reading First Line Fridays – Apr. 12, 2019

Lady of Pleasure (School of Gallantry #3) by @DelilahMarvelle #bookreview #NetGalley #historical romance #series

Lady of Pleasure

Where has this author been all these years?  I pulled this book from my To- Be-Read (TBR) pile and I'm hooked!  It made me blush, laugh, cry and sigh all within 357 pages of exquisite romance, recklessness, and renewal. She had finally come to face the one thing she had been unable to face since … Continue reading Lady of Pleasure (School of Gallantry #3) by @DelilahMarvelle #bookreview #NetGalley #historical romance #series

Broadland (DI Tanner #1) by @DavidDBlake @BOTBSPublicity #policeprocedural #suspensethriller

Broadland

ABOUT THE BOOK A girl's body found mutilated by a boat's propeller, another dumped at the bottom of a slipway, and a disused Norfolk mill, hiding the secret to both."A cold dense shadow fell over Jane Richardson as she hurried along the concrete towpath. To her left, moonlight danced over the River Bure's untroubled surface … Continue reading Broadland (DI Tanner #1) by @DavidDBlake @BOTBSPublicity #policeprocedural #suspensethriller

Sundays in Bed with…Lady of Pleasure

Sundays in Bed

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl. This Sunday I’m reading Lady of Pleasure by Delilah Marvelle.  … Continue reading Sundays in Bed with…Lady of Pleasure

#SegueSaturday Spanking Shakespeare by @JakeWizner #bookreview #yafiction #humor #highschool

Spanking Shakespeare

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in August 2009.  The review is short, but the book is unforgettably funny.  I bet you knew a Shakespeare Shapiro in high … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Spanking Shakespeare by @JakeWizner #bookreview #yafiction #humor #highschool

Out Where the West Begins: Profiles, Visions, and Strategies of Early Western Business Leaders, Vol. 1 by Philip F. Anschutz #bookreview #Americanhistory #nonfiction #business #biographies

Out Where the West Begins

For America, the period of 1800 to 1920 was an unparalleled time of broad expansion and growth driven by extraordinary factors unlike almost any other in history. It was a period of empire building and empire builders. The risks are high, but then too, the opportunities and rewards were high as well. The men in … Continue reading Out Where the West Begins: Profiles, Visions, and Strategies of Early Western Business Leaders, Vol. 1 by Philip F. Anschutz #bookreview #Americanhistory #nonfiction #business #biographies

Friday First Lines – Apr. 5, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: "There hadn't been a suicide note. The victim remains resolutely tight-lipped, stone-cold silent; the best and the worst witness of her end. A … Continue reading Friday First Lines – Apr. 5, 2019

Turn the Other Way by @StuartJames73 @BOTBSPublicity #bookreview #blogtour #horror

Turn the Other Way by Stuart James

Sometimes revenge is the deadliest game of all. A derelict farmhouse in the Essex countryside. A deranged family. Innocent victims being picked at random. If you're chosen, Turn The Other Way. Simon Bairstow is a top London Surgeon. He's performed dozens of life-saving operations. But something goes horribly wrong. The machine Eve Johnson is attached … Continue reading Turn the Other Way by @StuartJames73 @BOTBSPublicity #bookreview #blogtour #horror

The Disgraceful Lord Gray (The King’s Elite Book 3) by @VirginiaHeath_ @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #giveaway #Regency

The Disgraceful Lord Gray

A spy on a mission…Until he meets this heiress! Miss Theodora Cranford’s learned to keep her impetuous nature locked away. She won’t be deceived by another man who can’t see past her fortune. She wants an honourable, sensible sort – not a self-assured scoundrel like her new neighbour, Lord Gray. Although she’s sure there’s more … Continue reading The Disgraceful Lord Gray (The King’s Elite Book 3) by @VirginiaHeath_ @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #giveaway #Regency

Sundays in Bed with…Broadland

Sundays in Bed

The meme that dares to ask what book has been in your bed this morning? Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed, or which book you wish you had time to read today! This meme is hosted by Midnight Book Girl. This Sunday I’m reading Broadland by David Blake. A serial … Continue reading Sundays in Bed with…Broadland

#SegueSaturday Betrayed by @ClaireRobyns #bookreview #historicalromance #highlander

Betrayed by Claire Robyns

I started my book review blog in 2009 and I have read so many outstanding books that I wanted to share them again with my followers on #SegueSaturday.  I first posted this review in July 2010.  This is a debut highlander romance by Claire Robyns who has gone on to write contemporary romance series, steampunk/paranormal … Continue reading #SegueSaturday Betrayed by @ClaireRobyns #bookreview #historicalromance #highlander

First Lines Friday – Mar. 29, 2019

First Lines Friday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Wandering Words, where you give the first few lines of a book to hook your readers before introducing the book. Here are my first lines: "I've always delighted in the free fall between sleep and wakefulness.  Those precious few semi-conscious seconds before you open your eyes when you catch … Continue reading First Lines Friday – Mar. 29, 2019