Blog Tour, Book Review, Comedy, Rachel's Random Resources, Romance

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross

Five Wakes and a Wedding

ABOUT THE BOOK

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.

Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.

When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.

Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s BridesmaidsFour Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

MY REVIEW

I always love a great British rom-com and Ms. Ross had me laughing, crying and rethinking my funeral plans.  

Nina’s new shop is in Primrose Hill, “Britain’s answer to Beverly Hills”. Home of famous and wealthy people who “don’t do death” and who pull out every trick in the book to get Nina to leave the neighborhood. With the encouragement and support of Nina’s friends, Gloria (landlady and lawyer), Edo (starving artist) and Kelli (famous actress), she finds a way to overcome the bad and promote her own unique brand of funeral planning and end-of-life choices.

On another note, Nina’s love life has been non-existent for about 5 years since she lost her husband, Ryan, until she meets Barclay Banks, corporate lawyer, adrenaline junky, and playboy. His adventures at paintballing, go-karting and parkour, to name a few, are interesting, but it’s his pursuit of Nina that is his most challenging campaign.  I love Barclay. His quirky activities and hilarious t-shirt collection are priceless, but it’s his respect and small gestures to win over Nina that are truly romantic and swoon-worthy.

Overall, I adored this fast-paced story of perseverance and determination to pursue your dreams no matter the cost.  I learned a lot about the “modern way of death” and funeral planning.  Fascinating stuff!!  There are also a few surprises in store. I am a new fan of Ms. Ross and can’t wait to read more of her stories.  Recommend very highly!

Thank you to Ms. Ross for giving me the opportunity to review this book with no expectation of a positive review.

BUY THE BOOK

Five Wakes and a Wedding cover

Amazon UK Amazon US

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Karen RossAs a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction.   Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads:  the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur.  By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stockmarket, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

Follow Karen on Twitter and her website.

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Five Wakes and a Wedding Full Tour Banner