Did-My-Love-Life-Shrink-in-the-Wash-Featured
Blog Tour, Book Review, Bookouture, Chick Lit, Comedy, Motherhood, Women's Fiction

Did My Life Shrink in the Wash? by Kristen Bailey

Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash

ABOUT THE BOOK

Will and I didn’t have a clue what we were signing up for. It turns out that there’s loads we weren’t warned about:

  1. You’ll spend more time spooning your child’s cuddly donkey than your own boyfriend.
  2. Communication with your other half will be via post-it notes on the fridge, mainly telling him to buy more milk.
  3. If you make the mistake of going to a nightclub you’ll nod off, drool, and be woken up by an angry bouncer.
  4. In the middle of the night you’ll be begging Siri for advice on getting your baby to sleep. (Whale music doesn’t work.)
  5. Sex is something that happened in another dimension.

But even if I feel like I’m waiting for my motherhood powers to come in the post, at least I’ve got Will. Our old life – festivals, sambuca shots, an actual sex life – might be a distant memory, but we can get through anything together, can’t we?

At least that’s what I thought until, one day, Will walked out on us… If I’m on my own (apart from Siri, obviously) can I do this whole parenting thing? Or I am destined to lose my sanity one sleepless night at a time?

A totally hilarious and absolutely relatable tale for anyone who has survived parenthood purely on microwave meals and wished for an IV drip of coffee to get them through! This uplifting page-turner will make your belly ache with laughter. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella. 

MY REVIEW

When I’m hankering for a reality check with humor and love, I reach for Kristen Bailey. Her crazy funny and no-holds-barred honest moments with the Callaghan sisters hit close to home. They are a close-knit family dealing with their everyday lives like troopers. Meg, the eldest, is the “ringleader spokeswoman” from Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?Emma is the put-together doctor with a crap ex-husband in Can I Give My Husband Back?, Grace is the sensible sister who is a widow, Lucy is the fun wild-child, Beth is the nice sister and newly single mother without a clue.

This is Beth’s story about an unplanned pregnancy, a cute baby with a winning smile, and an AWOL father. She is a phenomenal mom dealing with many changes with her life and body and finding the time to make new lifelong friends who have her back as she tries to understand why the man she loves leaves her.

As for Beth’s boyfriend, Will. He makes some stupid choices that make him look very bad and he will have to work hard to become the man and father that Beth and little Joe need. 

Who wouldn’t love Beth’s amazingly supportive family, the Callaghan collective, who each give her heartfelt and much-needed advice? In addition, her friends, old and new, are so important to her mental health and her self-confidence. 

The laughs are loud from Beth’s outrageous and bittersweet birthday party to Lucy and Beth exercising in the park. The tears are real with Beth’s emotional turmoil and Will’s honest apology letter. The ending is HEA with a loving and necessary gesture from Beth’s dad.

I recommend this lovely, humorous, realistic story about the challenges of motherhood/fatherhood. 

Thank you to Ms. Bailey for giving me the opportunity to read this book with no expectations of a positive review.

BUY THE BOOK

Did-My-Love-Life-Shrink-in-the-Wash-Kindle

Amazon US Amazon UK iBooks Kobo googleplay

FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

Did my Lovelife Shrink in the Wash_ - Blog Tour

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kristen BaileyMother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long-listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She writes women’s fiction and she hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love, and family.

Follow Kristen on her websiteTwitterFacebook, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply