Blog Tour, Book on the Bright Side, Book Review, Crime, Detective Fiction, Mystery, Police Procedural, Serial Killer, Series, Suspense, Thriller

Chameleon (DCI Jack Mason series Book 4) by Michael K Foster


It was meant to be a harmless adventure…or so he thought.  

When a ten-year-old boy playing hooky from school sees a young woman’s body hanging from a tree, a man at the scene gives chase.

Still recovering from near fatal injuries, Jack Mason is sent to investigate. He knows the boy’s life is in danger, but that’s the least of his worries. There’s a much darker side to this investigation, and one that threatens to change many people’s lives.

What really happened in the woods that day? What dark secrets was the dead woman hiding?

And who, or what, is Chameleon?

You will be hooked from the start by this gripping crime thriller. There’s tension, suspense, and a plot full of unexpected twists and turns. Order your copy today.

Don’t miss out on the rest of the series:

The Wharf Butcher (Book 1)
Satan’s Beckoning (Book 2)
The Suitcase Man (Book 3)
Chameleon (Book 4)


Motionless, the man shot him another sideways glance. There was evil in his eyes, the likes of which he’d never seen before. After a few deep breaths, the boy pulled back into the thick undergrowth and hid behind a tree. He was desperate to get away from him, but nowhere felt safe anymore

In Book 4 of the DCI Jack Mason series, Mason is given the task of protecting a young witness to a grisly murder by a Russian assassin called the Chameleon. The task is a difficult and dangerous one and he hopes he is up to it what with recovering from a near-fatal attempt on his life.

This is my first introduction to the DCI Jack Mason series and it is a fast-paced manhunt that can be read as a standalone.

The character development is well-done. I got a good sense that Jack Mason is a thorough and well-respected investigator. In addition, the Chameleon is portrayed as meticulous and without remorse and conscience. In other words, he has no problem killing a young boy who witnessed a murder gone wrong.

I enjoyed my first impression of DCI Jack Mason so much I plan to pick up Book 1 and get to know him better.  This is a nail-biting crime thriller that will keep you rooting for Mason and his team to catch the killer before he strikes again.  Recommend highly!

Thank you to Mr. Foster for giving me the opportunity to read this book withouth expectation of a positive review.



Amazon UK Amazon US


Michael K FosterMichael K Foster has been writing crime thriller novels since 2006, all of them based in and around the North East of England. His bestselling debut novel, ‘The Wharf Butcher,’ was released in 2015 and offers a unique insight into this rugged landscape. He has now written four full-length novels featuring the hard-hitting DCI Jack Mason and local criminal profiler David Carlisle. His latest book in the series, ‘Chameleon,’ is scheduled for release in June 2019.

Michael was born in Plymouth, England. After ten years’ service in the British Army, he moved to Newcastle where he gained a master’s degree. A former Magistrate, he now writes full time and lives with his family in County Durham.

Follow Michael on his website, Facebook and Goodreads.


Chameleon Blog Tour

Leave a Reply